Entrepreneur
Erik Ceuppens
CEO
Profile

Marlink is the largest technology-independent satellite communication and digital solutions provider.

The company has 27 international offices around the world and works in close partnership with the largest distribution network of service providers in the industry.

Online

$0m
Revenue
Sector: Services Investment date: 2016 Apax position: Majority
Why did we invest?

Marlink encompasses the commercial division of Vizada, a former portfolio company of Apax Partners sold to Airbus Group in 2011. The company mainly operates in the maritime business sector, where it is a global leader, but it also offers terrestrial solutions. Marlink is well positioned to capture market growth through an exhaustive product portfolio, a global distribution network, and a large and diversified customer base.

How do we intend to create value?

Our investment thesis is based on several drivers of value creation: (i) accelerating VSAT delivery; (ii) developing value-added services beyond connectivity to increase ARPU (Average Revenue Per User) and customer retention; (iii) focusing on Land core verticals (onshore Oil & Gas, Mining, Media and Humanitarian); (iv) driving profitability through operational efficiencies and the outsourcing of installation and maintenance activities; and (v) consolidating a highly fragmented industry.

2016

Marlink’s revenue for 2016 were $450m, up 25% mainly due the acquisition of Telemar in November 2016. The company reinforced its relationship with key supplier Inmarsat. This agreement allows Marlink to pursue its technology agnostic strategy and to offer a wide range of solutions including its own VSAT services based on capacity provided by other satellite network operators.

  • Marlink is a global leader with a worldwide footprint and focuses on expanding its presence in those areas with some national sub-markets holding the greatest potential like Asia and Southern Europe.
  • In early 2017, the company reinforced its presence in Greece and Cyprus through the set-up of a joint venture with TNL Group, the satellite connectivity business of Greece and Cyprus based.
  • Six months after closing of the transaction, Marlink completed the acquisition of Telemar, providing 25% additional revenue.
  • Early 2017, the company also signed the acquisition of Palantir, a norwegian company providing the maritime sector with state of the art IT&C solutions and services.
  • Migration towards broadband VSAT solutions enables “Digital Vessel” operations. Connected equipment and sensors, data analytics, remote monitoring and diagnosis are being adopted by maritime companies to reduce their operating costs (fuel, maintenance, staff on board…). This trend offers promising opportunities for Marlink to enhance customer stickiness and cross-sell value-added services beyond connectivity.
  • Marlink also recently signed the acquisition of Palantir, a big data analysis company, supporting its strategy to offer additional services beyond connectivity.

Entrepreneur
Erik Ceuppens
Président-Directeur Général
Profil

Marlink est le leader mondial des services de communications par satellite.

La société exerce ses activités dans 27 pays à travers l’Europe, l’Asie, le Moyen-Orient et l’Amérique, avec un réseau de distribution d’environ 400 revendeurs dans le monde entier.

En ligne

0M$
Chiffre d'affaires
Secteur : Services Date d'investissement : 2016 Position Apax : Participation majoritaire
Pourquoi avons-nous investi ?

Marlink regroupe les activités civiles de Vizada, une ancienne société du portefeuille d’Apax Partners cédée au groupe Airbus en 2011. Ses activités sont essentiellement maritimes (position de leader mondial), mais aussi terrestres. La société est bien positionnée pour capter la croissance du marché grâce à une offre complète de produits, un réseau de distribution mondial et une base de clientèle large et diversifiée.

Comment prévoyons-nous de créer de la valeur ?

La thèse d’investissement repose sur différents leviers de création de valeur : (i) accélérer le développement du VSAT ; (ii) développer des services à valeur ajoutée au-delà des services de connexion pour augmenter l’ARPU (Average Revenue Per User) et la fidélisation de la clientèle ; (iii) se renforcer sur les principaux marchés verticaux dans le domaine terrestre (pétrole/gaz onshore, extraction minière, médias et humanitaire) ; (iv) améliorer la rentabilité grâce à une meilleure efficacité opérationnelle et à l’externalisation des activités d’installation et de maintenance ; (v) consolider une industrie très fragmentée.

2016

Le chiffre d’affaires de Marlink pour 2016 a atteint 450 M$, en hausse de 25 %, principalement grâce à l’acquisition de Telemar en novembre 2016. L’entreprise a renforcé ses liens avec son principal fournisseur, Inmarsat. Cet accord permet à Marlink de poursuivre sa stratégie indépendante de technologie sous-jacente et d’offrir une large gamme de solutions, y compris ses propres services VSAT basés sur la capacité fournie par d’autres opérateurs de réseaux par satellite.

  • Marlink est un leader mondial et s’attache à élargir sa présence dans les régions où certains sous-marchés nationaux offrent le plus grand potentiel, comme l’Asie et l’Europe du Sud.
  • Début 2017, l’entreprise a renforcé sa présence en Grèce et à Chypre en établissant une joint-venture avec le groupe TNL, entreprise de communication par satellite.
  • Six mois après l’acquisition par Apax Partners, Marlink a finalisé l’acquisition de Telemar, offrant 25 % de chiffre d’affaires supplémentaires.
  • Début 2017, l’entreprise a également signé l’acquisition de Palantir, une entreprise norvégienne qui fournit au secteur maritime des solutions et des services informatiques et de communication de pointe.
  • La migration vers des solutions VSAT d’internet à large bande permet des activités de « Navire digital ». Des équipements connectés et des capteurs, l’analyse de données et la surveillance, et le diagnostic à distance sont adoptés par les compagnies maritimes afin de réduire leurs charges d’exploitation (carburant, entretien, personnel de bord…). Cette tendance offre à Marlink des opportunités prometteuses pour améliorer la fidélité des clients et les services complémentaires à valeur ajoutée au-delà de la connectivité.
  • Marlink a également signé récemment l’acquisition de Palantir, afin de proposer une stratégie d’offre de services complémentaire au-delà de la connectivité.